bayerischer Rundfunk 5G Today

CLIENT


As part of the Bavarian research project 5G TODAY, a 5G test field for broadcasting has been set up in the Bavarian Oberland. Under the direction of the Institute of Broadcast Technology, project partners Kathrein and Rohde & Schwarz are investigating large-scale TV transmission in the FeMBMS (Further evolved Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) broadcast mode in 5G. They are supported by the associated partners Telefónica Deutschland and Bayerischer Rundfunk, which operates the 5G FeMBMS transmitter network as a test field at its transmitter sites.

Two Rohde & Schwarz high-power transmitters with 100 KW ERP are being installed at the Bavarian Broadcasting Corporation transmitter sites in Munich-Ismaning and on top of Wendelstein Mountain (1828 meters altitude). Kathrein antennas are being integrated and specially optimized for cellular reception. Both test transmitters will operate in a single frequency network over channel 56/57 (750 MHz to 760 MHz). The spectrum for the test transmitters are being provided by Telefónica.

The IRT has developed an FeMBMS receiver based on software defined radio (SDR) technology. IRT is also involved in transmitter network planning and test site measurements.

The 5G TODAY research project is funded by the Bavarian Research Foundation over a period of 28 months.

The insights from the project 5G TODAY will contribute greatly towards advancing 5G broadcast, supporting standardization work and promoting the development of components all the way to market launch. The goal is to enable the user to take advantage of both broadcasting and unicast transmission mechanisms on a single device – comprehensively, continuously and without further restrictions.

WORDUP PR has a long tradition when it comes to Public Relations for new media technologies, including the start of DAB / Digital Radio and terrestrial digital television DVB-T.

More information: www.5g-today.de

PR Deliverables (2018-2019)

  • Conception and relisation of project website (German / English)
  • PR consultancy for the official start event at IRT Munich with Bavarian State Minister Dr. Herrmann und BR Director Wilhelm
  • Editing of special interest articles
  • Editiing articles for the BR intranet
  • Participation in project meetings
  • Clipping Monitoring

Consultancy:1 Year


Selected Publications

  • Info Digital
  • Golem
  • Bayerischer Rundfunk
  • 5globalnews.com
  • teltarif
  • TV Technology
  • Film TV Video
  • TV Digital News
  • CableVision
and many more...

bayerischer Rundfunk 5G Today

KUNDE


Im bayerischen Forschungsprojekt 5G TODAY entsteht im Bayerischen Oberland ein 5G-Testfeld für den Rundfunk. Unter Leitung des Instituts für Rundfunktechnik untersuchen die Projektpartner Kathrein und Rohde & Schwarz die großflächige TV Übertragung im Rundfunkmodus FeMBMS (Further evolved Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service) in 5G. Unterstützt werden sie von den assoziierten Partnern Telefónica Deutschland und dem Bayerischen Rundfunk, der das 5G FeMBMS – Sendernetz als Testfeld auf seinen Senderstandorten betreibt.

Dafür werden zwei Hochleistungssender (High-Power-High-Tower) mit 100 KW ERP von Rohde & Schwarz an den Senderstandorten des Bayerischen Rundfunks in München-Ismaning und auf dem Wendelstein (Höhe 1828 m) installiert. In diesem Zuge werden Antennen von Kathrein integriert und speziell für den Mobilfunkempfang optimiert. Die beiden Testsender werden in einem Gleichwellennetz (SFN: Single Frequency Network) über Kanal 56/57 (750–760 MHz) betrieben. Die Frequenzen für die Testsender werden von Telefónica zur Verfügung gestellt.

Das IRT entwickelte einen FeMBMS-Empfänger auf Basis von SDR-Technik (Software Defined Radio). Ferner beteiligt sich das IRT an der Sendernetzplanung und an Testfeldmessungen.

Gefördert wird das Forschungsprojekt 5G TODAY über die Laufzeit von 28 Monaten durch die Bayerische Forschungsstiftung.

Die Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt 5G TODAY leisten einen wesentlichen Beitrag auf dem Weg zum 5G-Rundfunk. Sie unterstützen die Standardisierungsarbeiten und fördern die Weiterentwicklung von Komponenten bis hin zur zukünftigen Marktreife. Das Ziel ist es, dass der Nutzer auf einem einzigen Endgerät die Vorteile beider Übertragungsmechanismen – Broadcast und Unicast – umfassend, kontinuierlich und ohne weitere Beschränkungen nutzen kann.

WORDUP PR hat eine lange Tradition bei der Begleitung neuer Medientechnologien wie dem Hörfunkstandard DAB / Digital Radio und dem digitalen terrestrischen Fernsehen DVB-T.

Weitere Informationen: www.5g-today.de

PR Agentur Leistungen (2018-2019)

  • Konzeption und Umsetzung der Projekt-Website (deutsch/englisch)
  • PR-Begleitung des Startevents im IRT München mit Staatsminister Dr. Herrmann und BR-Intendant Wilhelm
  • Erstellung von Fachartikeln
  • Erstellung von Texten für das BR Intranet
  • Teilnahme an Projektmeetings
  • Clipping Monitoring

Beratungsdauer:1Jahr


Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

  • Info Digital
  • Golem
  • Bayerischer Rundfunk
  • 5globalnews.com
  • teltarif
  • TV Technology
  • Film TV Video
  • TV Digital News
  • CableVision
und viele andere...