TWS Partners
5. September 2022

Mask production and lying dormant potential: How incentives can help

A look at pedestrian zones, cafés, bars and restaurants in the summer of 2022 could lead one to believe that the coronavirus has long since disappeared. In large parts of Germany, life is once again as it was before the pandemic. Unfortunately, this also applies to politics, which has not drawn the right conclusions from the experience of 2020 and is just as ill-prepared for future pandemics as it the case with Corona.

Specifically, the issue is the missed opportunity for policymakers to ensure the preservation of businesses that produce medical equipment. It is true that Germany reacted quickly to the shortage of protective masks after the start of the Corona pandemic and created its own production lines. But in the meantime, many of these companies that produced masks are either insolvent or have converted their production again. How can we ensure that we will be able to act quickly in the future when it comes to the production of medical protective equipment?

Incentives and auctions could help to reconcile Germany’s national interests with the companies’ profit motives. After all, it would be quite sufficient to have just a handful of companies in a position to spontaneously switch their production if the worst came to the worst. This could be achieved by subsidized production of masks, which would have to be purchased at auction in advance. In return, companies would undertake to invest preemptively in the necessary machinery and staff to be able to respond and deliver directly in the event of a crisis.

How this game-theoretical model works in detail is explained by Dr. Sebastian Moritz, Managing Partner of our client, the consultancy TWS Partners, in the article linked here in the Tagesspiegel Background in the Health & E-Health section.

With its topic section “Health & E-Health”, Tagesspiegel Background offers an innovative range of information and expert briefing on health policy as well as on what is probably the biggest topic of the future in this area, e-health. TWS Partners specializes in making game theory useful for business decisions. Since the end of 2018, WORDUP has been responsible for all press relations for TWS Partners in Germany.

TWS Partners
5. September 2022

Maskenproduktion und schlummernde Potentiale: Wie Anreize helfen können

Blickt man im Sommer 2022 in Fußgängerzonen, Cafés, Bars und Restaurants könnte man meinen, dass das Coronavirus längst verschwunden ist. In Deutschland lebt es sich in weiten Teilen wieder wie vor der Pandemie. Leider gilt das auch für die Politik, die aus den Erfahrungen aus 2020 nicht die richtigen Schlüsse gezogen hat und für zukünftige Pandemien ebenso schlecht vorbereitet ist, wie es bei Corona der Fall war. 

Konkret geht es um die verpasste Chance der Politik, den Erhalt von Betrieben zu sichern, die medizinische Ausrüstung produzieren. Zwar hat Deutschland nach dem Beginn der Corona-Pandemie schnell auf den Mangel an Schutzmasken reagiert und eigene Produktionslinien geschaffen. Doch mittlerweile sind viele dieser Unternehmen, die Masken hergestellt haben, entweder insolvent oder haben ihre Produktion wieder umgestellt. Wie kann gewährleistet werden, in Zukunft bei der Produktion von medizinischer Schutzausrüstung rasch handlungsfähig zu sein? 

Anreize und Auktionen könnten hier Abhilfe schaffen, die nationalen Interessen Deutschlands mit dem Gewinnstreben der Unternehmen in Einklang zu bringen. Dabei reicht es nämlich völlig aus, wenn nur eine Handvoll Unternehmen in der Lage wäre, ihre Produktion im Fall der Fälle spontan umzustellen. Dies könnte durch eine subventionierte Herstellung von Masken erreicht werden, die im Vorfeld ersteigert werden müsste. Im Gegenzug würden sich die Unternehmen verpflichten, präventiv in die notwendigen Maschinen und Mitarbeiter zu investieren, um im Krisenfall direkt reagieren und liefern zu können. 

Wie dieses spieltheoretische Modell in seinen Details genau funktioniert, erklärt Dr. Sebastian Moritz, Managing Partner bei unserem Kunden, der Unternehmensberatung TWS Partners, im hier verlinkten Artikel im Tagesspiegel Background in der Rubrik Gesundheit & E-Health.  

Der Tagesspiegel Background bietet mit seiner Themenrubrik „Gesundheit & E-Health“ ein innovatives Informationsangebot und Fachbriefing zur Gesundheitspolitik sowie dem wohl größten Zukunftsthema in diesem Bereich, der E-Health. TWS Partners ist darauf spezialisiert, Spieltheorie für unternehmerische Entscheidungen nutzbar zu machen. Seit Ende 2018 verantwortet WORDUP die gesamte Pressearbeit für TWS Partners in Deutschland.