TWS Partners
11. July 2022

Using game theory to optimize supply chains in a climate-conscious way.

On the way to achieving climate neutrality, companies must also make a decisive contribution by drastically reducing their CO2 emissions. Government regulations, consumers and investors are already exerting a great deal of pressure on business in this regard. One starting point for really improving the climate balance and not just greenwashing is emissions along the entire supply chain. This is where the greatest potential for savings exists, since most greenhouse gases are released during the manufacture, transport and use of products.

In a feature article in Procure Swiss magazine, our client TWS Partners explains how companies can check their suppliers for their carbon footprint and, in a second step, use targeted economic incentives to encourage them to do more to protect the climate and promote sustainability. To this end, the game theory and behavioral economics experts at TWS Partners have developed a holistic approach in which, for example, internal CO2 prices are offset against the suppliers’ offers. The goal is climate-conscious optimization of the supply chain – even if this initially costs companies significantly more money in the vast majority of cases.

Procure Swiss Magazin is a Swiss trade magazine focusing on purchasing and logistics and is published by the Professional Association for Purchasing and Supply Management. The professional article by Dr. Sebastian Moritz and Dr. Maximilian Zott can be found here.

TWS Partners
11. Juli 2022

Mit Spieltheorie die Lieferketten klimabewusst optimieren

Auf dem Weg zur angestrebten Klimaneutralität müssen auch Unternehmen einen entscheidenden Beitrag leisten, indem sie ihre CO2-Emissionen drastisch reduzieren. Bereits jetzt üben staatliche Auflagen, Konsumenten und Investoren hierbei einen großen Druck auf die Wirtschaft aus. Ein Ansatzpunkt, die Klimabilanz wirklich zu verbessern und nicht nur Greenwashing zu betreiben, sind die Emissionen entlang der kompletten Lieferkette. Hier bestehen die größten Einsparpotentiale, da bei Herstellung, Transport und Nutzung von Produkten die meisten Treibhausgase freigesetzt werden.

In einem Fachartikel im Procure Swiss Magazin erläutert unser Kunde TWS Partners, wie Unternehmen ihre Zulieferer auf ihre CO2-Bilanz überprüfen und in einem zweiten Schritt mit gezielten ökonomischen Anreizen zu mehr Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit bewegen können. Dafür haben die Spieltheorie- und Verhaltensökonomie-Experten von TWS Partners einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz entwickelt, bei dem etwa interne CO2-Preise mit den Angeboten der Lieferanten verrechnet werden. Ziel ist die klimabewusste Optimierung der Lieferkette – auch wenn dies die Unternehmen in den allermeisten Fällen zunächst deutlich mehr Geld kostet.

Das Procure Swiss Magazin ist ein Schweizer Fachmagazin mit den Themenschwerpunkten Einkauf und Logistik und wird vom Fachverband für Einkauf und Supply Management herausgegeben. Den Fachartikel von Dr. Sebastian Moritz und Dr. Maximilian Zott finden Sie hier.