Drilona Vienna View
28. September 2021

Griaß eich from Vienna!

What do you think makes someone leave WORDUP PR in Munich, the supposedly most beautiful city in Germany, and move to Austria? Anyone who gives up our wonderful office in an old building with herringbone floors in the middle of Schwabing surely needs a good reason to do so.

Our employee Drilona is now embarking on this wild adventure to further her academic career with a Viennese Master’s degree. She will continue on supporting the WORDUP team wherever possible from her home office – where fortunately there is also a herringbone floor. But what is it really like to live in one of the world’s most livable cities?

When in Vienna, one cannot help but stroll through the alleys and streets in amazement, admiring the incredible buildings. But gazing at the buildings for hours on end saps your strength, where the many bakeries can provide relief. But here already awaits the first shock of language: there is no Brezn, here it is called Brezel.

However, if a “Brezn” does slip out, you won’t miss the Munich grump so much, because the Viennese Schmäh is just around the corner. Yet you can still find something comforting at the bakery in the end. If you’re looking for a Semmel here, you will get one – na, Oida!

Photo: “View over Vienna from the vineyards” by Drilona

Drilona Wien Aussicht
28. September 2021

Griaß eich aus Wien!

Wie kommt man wohl dazu WORDUP PR in München, der vermeintlich schönsten Stadt Deutschland, zu verlassen und nach Österreich zu ziehen? Wer unser wundervolles Büro in einem Altbau mit Fischgrätenboden mitten in Schwabing aufgibt, der braucht dazu einen guten Grund.

Unsere Mitarbeiterin Drilona geht nun dieses wilde Abenteuer an, um ihre akademische Laufbahn mit einem Wiener Master zu veredeln. Das WORDUP-Team unterstützt sie dabei weiterhin wo es geht aus dem Homeoffice – in dem zum Glück auch ein Fischgrätenboden verlegt ist. Aber wie ist denn wirklich in einer der lebenswertesten Städte der Welt zu leben?

In Wien kann man nicht anders, als staunend durch die Gassen und Straßen zu spazieren und die unglaublichen Bauwerke zu bewundern. Doch die Gebäude stundenlang anzuhimmeln, zehrt an den Kräften, wo die vielen Bäckereien Abhilfe schaffen können. Allerdings wartet hier schon der erste Sprachschock: es gibt keine Brezn, hier heißt es Brezel.

Sollte einem dann doch die „Brezn“ rausrutschen, vermisst man den Münchner Grantler jedenfalls gar nicht mehr so sehr, denn der Wiener Schmäh ist gleich um die Ecke. Etwas Tröstliches lässt sich aber beim Bäcker am Ende trotzdem finden. Wer hier nach einer Semmel sucht, bekommt auch eine – na, Oida!

Foto: “Aussicht über Wien bei den Weinbergen” von Drilona