Vaccination Incentives Communication
7. December 2021

Vaccination incentives: suggestions for good public policy marketing

Another year of partially massive Corona restrictions for the economy and personal life is coming to an end.  The frustration is now palpable everywhere, as we have been in what feels like an endless loop for almost two years. One of the most effective measures against the Corona pandemic clearly is the vaccination, all serious experts agree on that. But the German-speaking countries, and especially the South, are rather reluctant when it comes to their own vaccination. Our experts from the fields of communication, behavioral economics and virology have concrete approaches to solving this problem.

WORDUP PR CEO Achim von Michel recently referred to the positive example set by Vienna in an interview with the marketing trade magazine ONEtoONE. Here, all unvaccinated people are invited by official letter to their fixed vaccination appointment, similar to the process in Spain and Portugal. So instead of making a more or less “wishy-washy” “vaccination offer,” the Viennese receive a clear invitation with a specific date. In addition, Austria has had a digital vaccination register since the beginning of the year. Involving the military, in Italy and Portugal for example through highly decorated generals at the head of crisis teams, also seems to have contributed a lot to the positive image of vaccination campaigns, so much so that Germany is now following suit: Major General Carsten Breuer is taking on the task in this country.

According to Marcus Schreiber, CEO of our client TWS Partners, the European market leader for game theory and behavioral economics based in Munich, incentive strategies in particular are a suitable option to further increase the vaccination rate noticeably in Germany as well. His trenchant statements on what is happening in intensive care units have made big waves and have been picked up by numerous leading German media (SZ, WELT, RND, FR, Münchner Merkur, FOCUS and ZDF Morgenmagazin).

Even before the start of the fourth wave, Schreiber had become actively involved in the vaccination discussion, giving a double interview with virologist Melanie Brinkmann in SPIEGEL (40/2021) at the beginning of October. The solutions discussed in the interview are still highly relevant today. The fact that the number of vaccinations must increase is also confirmed by Professor Dr. Ulrike Protzer, virologist and member of Markus Söder’s expert council. Already at the beginning of the pandemic in spring 2020, she had pointed out the dangers of Sars-Cov-2 for the economy in a Zoom interview with Achim von Michel. Professor Monika Schnitzer, a member of the German government’s Council of Economic Experts, also faced specific questions from SMEs in the Zoom interview in 2020.

Needless to say, all employees at WORDUP PR are vaccinated – for their own health and for the protection of the general public!

Impfanreize Kommunikation
7. Dezember 2021

Impfanreize: Vorschläge für gutes Politik-Marketing

Erneut geht ein Jahr mit teilweise massiven Corona-Beschränkungen für Wirtschaft und Privatleben zu Ende.  Die Frustration ist mittlerweile überall spürbar, befinden wir uns doch seit beinahe zwei Jahren in einer gefühlten Endlosschleife. Eine der effektivsten Maßnahmen gegen die Corona-Pandemie ist klar das Impfen, darin sind sich alle seriösen Experten einig. Doch der deutschsprachige Raum und speziell der Süden zeigen sich eher zurückhaltend, wenn es um die eigene Impfung geht. Unsere Experten aus den Bereichen Kommunikation, Verhaltensökonomie und Virologie haben hier konkrete Lösungsansätze.

WORDUP PR-Geschäftsführer Achim von Michel verwies kürzlich in einem Interview mit dem Marketing-Fachmagazin ONEtoONE unter anderem auf das Positiv-Beispiel Wien. Hier werden alle Ungeimpften per offiziellem Brief zu ihrem fixen Impftermin eingeladen, ähnlich dem Vorgang in Spanien und Portugal. Anstatt also mehr oder weniger “larifari” ein “Impfangebot” zu machen, erhalten die Wienerinnen und Weiner eine klare Aufforderung mit konkretem Datum. Zudem gibt es in Österreich seit Beginn des Jahres ein digitales Impfregister. Auch das Einbeziehen des Militärs, in Italien und Portugal beispielsweise durch hoch dekorierte Generäle an der Spitze der Krisenstäbe, scheint so viel zum positiven Image der Impfkampagnen beigetragen zu haben, dass jetzt auch Deutschland diesem Beispiel folgt: Generalmajor Carsten Breuer übernimmt die Aufgabe hierzulande.

Für Marcus Schreiber, CEO unseres Kunden TWS Partners, dem europäischen Marktführer für Spieltheorie und Verhaltensökonomie mit Sitz in München, sind vor allem Anreizstrategien eine geeignete Option, um die Impfquote auch in Deutschland noch spürbar weiter zu steigern. Seine pointierten Aussagen zum Geschehen auf den Intensivstationen haben hohe Wellen geschlagen und wurden von vielen deutschen Leitmedien aufgegriffen (SZ, WELT, RND, FR, Münchner Merkur, FOCUS und ZDF Morgenmagazin).

Noch vor dem Beginn der vierten Welle hatte sich Schreiber aktiv in die Impfdiskussion eingebracht und Anfang Oktober im SPIEGEL (40/2021) ein Doppelinterview mit der Virologin Melanie Brinkmann gegeben. Die darin diskutierten Lösungsansätze sind bis heute höchst relevant. Dass die Zahl der Impfungen steigen muss, bestätigt auch Professor Dr. Ulrike Protzer, Virologin und Mitglied im Expertenrat von Markus Söder. Schon zu Beginn der Pandemie im Frühjahr 2020 hatte sie im Zoom-Gespräch mit Achim von Michel auf die Gefahren von Sars-Cov-2 für die Wirtschaft hingewiesen. Auch Professor Monika Schnitzer, Mitglied des Sachverständigenrats für Wirtschaft der deutschen Bundesregierung, stellte sich im Jahr 2020 im Zoom-Interview konkreten Fragen des Mittelstands.

Unnötig zu betonen, dass alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter bei WORDUP PR natürlich geimpft sind – für die eigene Gesundheit und zum Schutz der Allgemeinheit!